Welcome to the KHW SA website


Katowicki Holding Węglowy S.A. was established on 29 June 1993 as a result of a merger of eleven mines – joint stock companies owned by the State Treasury. The established Company included the following mines: KWK Katowice S.A., KWK Kleofas S.A., KWK Murcki S.A., KWK Mysłowice S.A., KWK Śląsk S.A., KWK Niwka-Modrzejów S.A., KWK Wesoła S.A., KWK Wieczorek S.A., KWK Wujek S.A., KWK Staszic S.A. and KWK Kazimierz-Juliusz S.A. At the moment of entering KHW S.A. in the commercial register, the mines lost their legal personality and became plants owned by the Company.

The State Treasury is the founder and the sole shareholder of the Company. The Company's registered office is in Katowice.

In 1996, the Katowice and Kleofas mines were merged, adopting the name Katowice-Kleofas. In the same year, KWK Niwka-Modrzejów and KWK Kazimierz-Juliusz were transformed into limited liability companies. In 1999, KWK Katowice-Kleofas - Ruch II (the former Katowice mine) and KWK Niwka-Modrzejów Sp. z o.o. went into liquidation. On 29.09.2000, the latter was declared insolvent. In November 2004, extraction at KWK Katowice-Kleofas was discontinued. The mine was transferred to Spółka Restrukturyzacji Kopalń S.A. (Mines Restructuring Company) in order to have the mining plant liquidated. On 23.01.2009, as a result of the completion of the insolvency proceedings, KWK Niwka-Modrzejów Sp. z o.o. was removed from the commercial register. On 1 January 2005, the Śląsk and Wujek mines were merged into one mining plant – KWK Wujek. On 1 January 2006, KWK Katowice-Kleofas was removed from the structure of KHW S.A. The remaining, undeveloped part of the assets of that mine was transferred to KWK Staszic. On 1 January 2007, Mysłowice and Wesoła mines were merged into an extraction centre – Mysłowice-Wesoła. On 1 January 2010, Murcki and Staszic mines were merged into a single mining plant – KWK Murcki-Staszic. On 30 June 2011, extraction was discontinued in the Mysłowice part of KWK Mysłowice-Wesoła.

As a result of those transformations, the number of mines included in KHW S.A. was reduced to four, namely KWK Murcki-Staszic,  KWK Mysłowice-Wesoła, KWK Wieczorek and KWK Wujek. 

A fifth and smallest mine in the Group, KWK Kazimierz-Juliusz, operated as a subsidiary – a limited liability company. 6-th November 2014 it has been sold to Mines Restructuring Company which is going to finish operation and to execute shutdown of the mine


Ownership structure and Corporate Governance

Pursuant to the Commercial Companies Code, the managing and the supervisory authorities of Katowicki Holding Węglowy S.A. ("KHW", "Company") are the Management Board and the Supervisory Board.

Management Board

The Company's managing body is the Management Board, acting pursuant to applicable provisions of law, the provisions of the Statute and the Regulations of the Management Board. The Regulations of the Management Board are drawn up by the Management Board and approved by resolution of the Supervisory Board.

Pursuant to the Statute, the Company's Management Board may be composed of from three to six members. The number of members of the Management Board is determined by the General Meeting.

Members of the Management Board are appointed and recalled by the Supervisory Board. Members of the Management Board are appointed for a joint term of office lasting for three years. The term of office of a given member of the Management Board appointed before the lapse of the Management Board's term of office expires at the time of expiration of the term of office of other members of the Management Board.

The Company's Management Board manages the Company's activities, representing it inside and outside courts. Regulations of the Management Board specify the details of the Management Board's activities.


Simplified Organisational Structure

The organisational structure of the Katowicki Holding Węglowy S.A. Capital Group comprises the following basic levels: Management Board, Divisions, Teams and Departments subordinate to specific members of the Management Board
within the framework of their competences, as well as mines and the Shared Services Centre.

The Vice-President of the Management Board for Production is responsible, among other things, for the following units: Chief Engineer, Production Planning Team, Investment Team, Production Assets Management Team, Media Management Team, Measuring and Geology Team, New Technologies Implementation Team.

The Vice-President of the Management Board for Economics and Finances is responsible, among other things, for the following units: Control and Standardisation Team, Financial Team, Operating Controlling Team and Logistics Team.

The Vice-President of the Management Board for Labour is responsible, among other things, for the following units: HR Management and Administration Team, Payroll Policy Team and Social Dialogue Team.

The Vice-President of the Management Board for Trading and Market is responsible, among other things, for the following units: Sales Strategy Team, Strategic Receivers Team, Commune and Industrial Receivers Team, Sales Service Team, Processing, Coal Quality and Hard Resources.

The following units are directly subordinate to the President of the Management Board: Internal Control and Audit Team, Corporate Communication Organisation Team, HR Issues Team, Corporate Strategy Team, Protection and Defence Team, OHS and Training Team, Ownership Supervision Team and Advisors Team.



For any information, please contact us:

Katowicki Holding Węglowy SA
ul. Damrota 16, 40-022 Katowice

  • tel:. +48 32  757 3069
  • fax: + 48 32 757 3150
  • e-mail:

or search for more in contact information reference